What do you want to do?

One of the first things I ask of new clients is to give me their sales pitch / elevator speech.

Many clients have never been coached, so I help them through it:

    • Who are you?
    • What kind of work are you looking for?
    • Why are you qualified to do what you want to do?

Most of my clients have at least an idea of what they want to do. Somewhat less than half will give me the answer, “I just need a job. I’ll do anything for anyone who wants to hire me.”

I get it. You need a job, and you do not want to close down any options. You truly believe that you will work harder than anyone else, and that no job is beneath you.

However, if that is your answer, I don’t know how to help you.

Can you perform open heart surgery? Can you fix a carburetor? Can you add electrical wiring to a building? Can you create a marketing plan for a new product line? “I could if someone would show me.” But why would an employer hire you to train, if they could hire someone who knows how to do it already?

One of the worst things that could happen is that you are successful in landing a job, that you hate (or lack the skills). You will notice right away, and then your employer will notice, and before the probation period ends, you are likely to be looking for your next opportunity, again.

You have greater likelihood of landing a job that you like, if you are focused on what you want.

If you are unfocused, you likely have a one-size-fits-all resume that you send to all employers, which is really a one-size-fits-none resume that misses the mark, every time. Or, you likely will approach employers at a job fair asking, “What jobs do you have available?” They don’t know what you are good at because you haven’t told them.

Ultimately, you need a focus because you will have your greatest chance of success when other people help you. People are generally willing to help you, if you make it easy for them to do so, if you can tell them what you want. If you make them guess what would be a good fit for you, then they are much less able to help you.

Ask yourself some questions:

  • What have you done before, that you didn’t like? Take that off the table.
  • What have you done before, that you liked?
    • Are you willing to do it again?
    • Are you able to do it again, physically?
    • Are you able to do it again, legally?
    • What other job opportunities do your transferable skills suggest?

In my next post, I will make suggestions as to how to identify transferable skills for a career change.

Success does not come to you. You go get it.

I want to hear from you. Connect with me on FacebookLinkedIn and Twitter, or leave a comment below, and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

